Monday, October 25, 2010

(EA) Defining Vegetarianism

There are several types (and degrees?) of vegetarian diets. Most, though apparently not all (see "pesco-" and "semi-" vegetarianism below) exclude all animal flesh. Here's a list from

"Lacto-Ovo Veggie - The most common type of vegetarian diet in which one omits all flesh from the diet but does include dairy products and eggs.

Ovo Veggie - The term used to describe a vegetarian diet with the addition of eggs only (no flesh and no dairy).

Vegan - Excludes all foods and products of animal origin including honey, wool, and leather.

Raw Vegan - Same as above but consumes raw or 'living' food only.

Semi Veggie - Also referred to as a 'part-time vegetarian.' Red meat is eliminated from the diet but fish and chicken are still consumed on occasion.

Pesco Veggie - Eliminates most animal flesh but allows the consumption of fish, seafood, eggs and dairy products.

Semi vegetarian and pesco vegetarian are a bit of an oxymoron, but you will come across people who use these terms to describe their eating habits.

Pudding Veggie - A vegetarian of any sort who lives on a "meatless" junk food diet.

Social Veggie - A 'pick the meat off the pizza and it will be ok' kind of vegetarian."

No comments:

Post a Comment